News Story

Gupta Awarded AIAA Pendray Aerospace Literature Award

Gupta Awarded AIAA Pendray Aerospace Literature Award

Department of Mechanical Engineering Distinguished University Professor Ashwani Gupta has been named the 2017 recipient of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) Pendray Aerospace Literature Award. The award is presented for an outstanding contribution to aeronautical and astronautical literature, with an emphasis on the high quality or major influence of the piece. It is named in honor of Dr. G. Edward Pendray, a founder and former president of the American Rocket society.

Gupta was cited for his “exemplary contributions to the aerospace literature especially on swirl flows and high temperature combustion technology, and for his services as book series editor and associate editor of journals.” He has been an AIAA fellow since 1992.

Over the course of Gupta’s career, he has authored over 700 technical papers, three books, 12 edited books and 12 book chapters. In 2016, Gupta was elected to Fellowship of the Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS), UK, the highest professional recognition bestowed by the RAeS. He also received the Golden Elephant Award from Thailand's Surindra Rajabhat University in recognition of his scientific achievements and collaborative efforts with their university. 

He is currently a Fellow of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) and RAeS. Last fall, Gupta was also recognized as an Honorary ASME Fellow during 2016 ASME’s International Mechanical Engineering Congress & Exposition Conference’s Honor’s Assembly.

Gupta received this award during the annual AIAA Science and Technology (SciTech) conference January 9-13 held in Grapevine, Texas.

Related Articles:
Gupta Receives AIAA Air Breathing Propulsion Award
Larsson Named Associate Editor of AIAA Journal
Gupta Named 2016 AAAS Fellow
Schmidt Named 2016-2017 Undergraduate Studies Faculty Fellow
Gupta Named ASME Honorary Member
Gupta Receives Golden Elephant Award from Surindra Rajabhat University, Thailand
Azarm Awarded ASME Robert E. Abbott Award
Professor Ashwani Gupta Awarded Honorary Doctorate
Mechanical Engineering Professors Receive DURIP Awards
Gupta Receives ASEE 2015 Ralph Coats Roe Award

February 2, 2017

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Cuff, Scale, and Smartphone

Igniting Entrepreneurship

Oran Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Four Clark School Professors Receive Competitive DURIP Grants

Five Clark School Undergraduate Students Receive Dean’s Awards

CALCE Wins Defense University Research Instrumentation Program Funding for Battery Research

Register for the Symposium on Counterfeit Parts and Materials

New Research on Polyelectrolyte Brush Bilayers Published in PRE

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar

Additional Resources

UM Newsdesk

Faculty Experts