News Story

Azarm Awarded ASME Robert E. Abbott Award

Azarm Awarded ASME Robert E. Abbott Award

Department of Mechanical Engineering Professor Shapour Azarm has won the 2016 American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Robert E. Abbott Award. The honor, established in 1978, is awarded annually to a Design Engineering Division (DED) society member who has “served the Division beyond the call of duty.” Members are nominated by friends and colleagues to the organization, and then voted on by the division board.

This is not the first time Azarm has been honored by ASME. In 2009, he was awarded the Best Paper award at their annual Design Automation Conference and named an ASME Fellow in February 2004. He previously won their ASME Design Automation Award for his contributions to the field. He is an operating board member of the ASME Systems and Design Group, the largest in the ASME community, and also currently serves as the editor of the ASME Journal of Mechanical Design, a position he has held since 2013. He has also served as the faculty mentor for the ASME student chapter on campus.

In addition to his work with ASME, Azarm is a senior member of the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA), the International Society of Multiple Criteria Decision Making (MCDM) and the International Society for Structural and Multidisciplinary Optimization (ISSMO).

Azarm received his Ph.D. from the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, in 1984. He then joined the University of Maryland where he currently serves as Director of Design Decision Support Laboratory.

ASME is a professional organization that helps the global engineering community to develop solutions to real world problems. The society was founded in 1880 and has a rich history of endorsing the education and advancement of technical knowledge and skills.

The University of Maryland (UMD) Department of Mechanical Engineering has 15 faculty members who are ASME members.

Azarm will be presented with the award at the 2016 International Design Engineering Conference (IDETC) held on August 21-24 in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Related Articles:
Yu Named ASME Fellow
Sandborn Awarded ASME Kos Ishii-Toshiba Award
Gupta Awarded AIAA Pendray Aerospace Literature Award
Schmidt Named 2016-2017 Undergraduate Studies Faculty Fellow
Gupta Named ASME Honorary Member
Mechanical Engineering Student Appointed to ASME-IPTI Collegiate Council
Han Receives ASME Mechanics Award
Dasgupta, Fourney and Hwang Named ASME Fellows
Das Receives SMTA "Member of Technical Distinction" Award
Hwang Invited to Energy Editorial Board, Chairs ASME 2015 Conference and Delivers Keynote

June 6, 2016

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

University of Maryland School of Engineering Announces Unprecedented Investment from A. James & Alice B. Clark Foundation

Catalini and Leininger win 2017 GDF-Suez Chuck Edwards Memorial Fellowships

UMD Researchers Work to Mitigate Water Scarcity Crisis with Solar-Powered Devices Made of Wood

Graduate Student Panelist at International Student Event

Empowering Voices in Engineering

CALCE partners with FDA to improve wearable device reliability, safety

UMD-Led Research Predicts Dangerous Blood Pressure Drops in ICU Patients

Sarah Bergbreiter wins ISR Outstanding Faculty Award

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar

Additional Resources

UM Newsdesk

Faculty Experts