News Story

Ohadi Receives ASHRAE E.K. Campbell Award of Merit

Ohadi Receives ASHRAE E.K. Campbell Award of Merit

Department of Mechanical Engineering Professor Michael Ohadi recently received the American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) E.K. Campbell Award of Merit. The award recognizes one ASHRAE member every year for their outstanding service and achievement in teaching, and includes a plaque and $10,000 honorarium from the Society's Life Members Club.

Ohadi currently works on two projects funded by a $5 million award from the U.S. Energy Department’s Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E) program to improve power plant cooling.

Leading the Novel Polymer Composite Heat Exchanger for Dry Cooling of Power Plants project, Ohadi and his team are improving power plant cooling technologies through the development and application of new composite heat exchangers that use a low-cost, high conductivity medium encapsulated in a polymeric material that is highly durable, low cost and has a high resistance to corrosion.

On the Novel Microemulsion Absorption Systems for Supplemental Power Plant Cooling project, he is serving as a co-principal investigator with Associate Professor Bao Yang. This project aims to developan absorption cooling systems for power plants utilizing a novel microemulsion liquid absorbent.

Ohadi received his Ph.D. from the University of Minnesota in 1986, and is a founding faculty member of the University of Maryland’s Center for Environmental Energy Engineering (CEEE) He is internationally recognized for his research in heat and mass transfer and smart energy systems, and he is the inventor/co-inventor of eight issued U.S. patents. In addition, he has published more than 150 refereed technical publications and has close to 20 years of industrial and academic experience in the areas of heat transfer, fluid flow, thermal energy conversion and electrohydrodynamics. Ohadi is also a member of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) and has won numerous awards from both ASME and ASHRAE.

ASHRAE will present Ohadi with the award during their 2015 Winter Conference in Orlando, Florida on January 23, 2016.


Related Articles:
University of Maryland Sponsors ITHERM 2017 Conference
Aute to Receive ASHRAE Distinguished Service Award
UMD Team Receives ASME AESD 2013 Best Paper Award
Ohadi Recognized as Leading Expert in Heat Exchangers
Mechanical Engineering Student Awarded NSF Travel Grant
Yunho Hwang to Receive Exceptional Service Award from ASHRAE
Six Mechanical Engineering Students Selected for 2013 Future Faculty Program

August 9, 2015

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

Burgers Program Features Topics in Turbulence

Wachsman and group overcome high resistance, low capacity solid-state battery barriers

Best paper award for Bergbreiter, St. Pierre, Gosrich at Hilton Head workshop

Profs. Dasgupta, McCluskey and Students Present at ITherm 2018

Empowering Experience and Innovation

Srebric Elected Fellow of ISIAQ

Student Teams Win $5,000 In Scholarship Funding

Building Together at the 2018 ASEE Annual Conference

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar

Additional Resources

UM Newsdesk

Faculty Experts