News Story

Professor and Co-authors Win ASME Award

Professor and Co-authors Win ASME Award

Professor Shapour Azarm and Dr. Nathan Williams
Professor Shapour Azarm and Dr. Nathan Williams

Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Shapour Azarm, has recently been awarded the 2009 American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Design Automation Conference (DAC) "Best Paper Award." Co-authored by Mian Li and Nathan Williams, the team won the award for their paper entitled "Interval Uncertainty Reduction and Single-Disciplinary Sensitivity Analysis with Multi-Objective Optimization." The trio received the award on September 1, 2009, at the annual ASME Design Automation Conference held in San Diego.

Sponsored by the Ford Motor Company, the Best Paper Award is chosen from a large pool of submissions. For 2009, 158 full papers were submitted out of which 123 papers were accepted after a rigorous review process.

Former Ph.D. students of Professor Azarm, Li and Williams worked on the paper as part of their Ph.D. dissertation work. Li is currently serving as an Assistant Professor at the University of Michigan-Shanghai Jiao Tong University Joint Institute, Shanghai, China, while Williams is a Senior Analyst at Shell Energy in Spokane, Washington. The team received funding for their work from the U.S. Office of Naval Research.

On receiving the award, Azarm is effusive, "I feel great about this significant achievement. This paper was a lot of fun to work on--I believe I am speaking for all of the co-authors of the paper!" Most recently, Azarm was the recipient of the 2007 ASME Design Automation Award for his "sustained and meritorious contributions to research in Design Automation, specifically in computational design optimization and engineering design decision-making." He is a member of numerous scientific and professional organizations and has authored many publications. On campus, Azarm is the Director of the Design Decision Support Lab (DDSL) in the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

Azarm’s best advice for current ME students, "Set your goals high, work as hard as you can towards those goals and deliver a quality job. If you follow these simple rules, you will always be successful."

For more information about the DAC Best Paper Award, please visit: http://cdl.engr.uconn.edu/asmeda/.

Related Articles:
UMD Researchers Creating First Onboard Fast-Charging System for Electric Vehicles
ME Alumni Alex Mehr Receives Clark School Early Career Award
Droguett Joins Mechanical Engineering as Associate Professor
Mechanical Engineering Alumnus Awarded Jefferson Fellowship
Shaking Things Up: UMD Engineering Students Build Innovative Solution to Help Save Honey Bees
Yep to Deliver Student Speech for Clark School Spring Commencement
Shi and Srivastava win 2012 ISVLSI Best Paper Award
Preeti Chauhan Wins Best Student Paper Award
Kaushik Chatterjee Wins 1st Place Prize in the 2010 ANS Student Paper Competition
Terps Racing: Baja SAE Update

September 11, 2009

Prev   Next
"I feel great about this significant achievement."

Current Headlines

Khaligh, McCluskey receive Boeing funding for more electric aircraft

Larsson Named Associate Editor of AIAA Journal

Super Wood Could Replace Steel

IEEE Prognostics and Health Management StandardPublished by IEEE Reliability Society

Five Mechanical Engineering Graduate Students Named Future Faculty Fellows

Inaugural Energy Innovation Seed Grants awarded

C.D. Mote, Jr. Named a Fellow in the National Academy of Inventors

UMD Researchers Discover Methods to Mediate Membrane-Nanoparticle Interactions

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar

Additional Resources

UM Newsdesk

Faculty Experts