News Story

Undergraduate School of Engineering and Departmental Awards Announced

Undergraduate School of Engineering and Departmental Awards Announced

In a ceremony last night, the Clark School of Engineering and the Department of Mechanical Engineering named the following Mechanical Engineering undergraduate student award winners:

Dinah Berman Memorial Award: Anita Currano

Presented to engineering students who have combined academic excellence with demonstrated leadership or service to the College as freshmen or sophomores.

Kim A. Borsavage and Pamela J. Stone Student Award for Outstanding Service: William Samuel Sellers III

Presented for outstanding service and dedication to the college.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Senior Award: Robert James Kucner

Present to the senior member who has contributed the most to the student chapter.

Pi Tau Sigma Outstanding Service Award: Melissa Elaine Fleck

Presented to a student for outstanding service and contributions to the chapter.

Pi Tau Sigma Memorial Award: William Samuel Sellers III

Presented to the senior in Mechanical Engineering who has made the most outstanding contributions to the University.

Pi Tau Sigma Outstanding Sophomore Award: Matthew Philip Para

Presented to the most outstanding sophomore in Mechanical Engineering on the basis of scholastic average.

Department of Mechanical Engineering's Academic Achievement Award: Aaron Joseph Johnson

Presented to the junior in Mechanical Engineering who has attained the highest overall academic average.

Department of Mechanical Engineering Chairman's Award: Melissa Elaine Fleck, Sara Theresa Hewitt, and Brent Mager

Presented for excellence in academics, outstanding service to the department or leadership in the department.

April 18, 2001

Prev   Next

Current Headlines

ARPA-E Spotlights UMD Awardee

CEEE Researchers Win ASHRAE Best Paper Award

Semiconductor quantum transistor opens the door for photon-based computing

Remembering Marilyn Berman Pollans

Supporting Diversity in Engineering

FPE Chair James Milke Recieves Award from Siemens

UMD Resilience Experts Host Project Management Training for Disaster Responders

Inspired by Nature: Autonomous Underwater Robotics

News Resources

Return to Newsroom

Search News

Archived News

Events Resources

Events Calendar

Additional Resources

UM Newsdesk

Faculty Experts