ENME

Faculty Directory

Shapour Azarm
Professor
Director, Design Decision Support Lab
2155 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5250 | azarm@umd.edu
Department Chair
Minta Martin Professor
Faculty Member, Applied Mathematics and Scientific Computation
2181 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-4747 | balab@umd.edu
Avram Bar-Cohen
Distinguished University Professor
2106B Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-3173 | abc@umd.edu
Amr Baz
Minta Martin Professor
Keystone Professor
Director, Smart Materials and Structures Research Center
2137 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5216 | baz@umd.edu
Sarah Bergbreiter
Associate Professor
2170 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-6506 | sarahb@umd.edu
Peter Bernard
Professor
3116 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5272 | bernard@umd.edu
David Bigio
Associate Professor
3129 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5258 | dbigio@umd.edu
Hugh Bruck
Professor
Director, Graduate Studies
Associate Chair, Academic Affairs
2174 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-8711 | bruck@umd.edu
Nikhil Chopra
Associate Professor
2149 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-7011 | nchopra@umd.edu
Aris Christou
Professor
2309A Chemical and Nuclear Engineering
301-405-5208 | christou@umd.edu
Chung, Peter W.
Associate Professor
2135 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-4543 | pchung15@umd.edu
Michel Cukier
Associate Professor of Reliability Engineering
Associate Director for Education, Maryland Cybersecurity Center (MC2)
Director, Advanced Cybersecurity Experiences for Students (ACES)
2151 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-314-2804 | mcukier@umd.edu
Siddhartha Das
Assistant Professor
3163 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Bldg. 088
301-405-6633 | sidd@umd.edu
Abhijit Dasgupta
Jeong H. Kim Professor
2110C Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5251 | dasgupta@umd.edu
Don DeVoe
Professor & Associate Chair, Research
Affiliate Faculty, Bioengineering & Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Director, Maryland MEMS and Microfluidics Lab
3139 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-8125 | ddev@umd.edu
Marino diMarzo
Professor
3104E JM Patterson, Building 083
301-405-5257 | marino@umd.edu
James Duncan
Wilson Elkins Professor (2013-2015)
Keystone Professor
3118 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Bldg 088
301-405-5260 | duncan@umd.edu
William Fourney
Associate Dean
Keystone Professor
1131 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Bldg 088
301-405-1129 | four@umd.edu
Fuge, Mark D.
Assistant Professor
2172 Glenn L. Martin Hall
301-405-2558 | fuge@umd.edu
Gabriel, Steven A.
Professor
Leader, Design and Reliability of Systems Division
Director, Energy Systems Management and Policy Certificate Program
0151D Glenn. L. Martin Hall
301-405-3242 | sgabriel@umd.edu
Ashwani K. Gupta
Distinguished University Professor
2159 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5276 | akgupta@umd.edu
Assistant Professor
2104C Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-7864 | jhahn12@umd.edu
Bongtae Han
Professor
Keystone Professor
3147 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5255 | bthan@umd.edu
Jeffrey Herrmann
Professor
Academic Director, QUEST Honors Program
0151B Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5433 | jwh2@umd.edu
Kenneth Kiger
Professor
Keystone Professor
Director, Undergraduate Studies
2188 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5245 | kkiger@umd.edu
Jungho Kim
Professor
Keystone Professor
Leader, Thermal, Fluids & Energy Systems Division
3137 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5437 | kimjh@umd.edu
Assistant Professor
2151 Glenn Martin Hall
301-405-6640 | axel@umd.edu
Johan Larsson
Assistant Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
Member, Applied Mathematics & Statistics, and Scientific Computation
3149 Glenn L. Martin Hall
301-405-5273 | jola@umd.edu
Teng Li
Associate Professor
Keystone Professor
2141 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-0364 | lit@umd.edu
F. Patrick McCluskey
Professor
Leader, Electronics and Product Systems Division
2125 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-0279 | mcclupa@umd.edu
Mohammad Modarres
Nicole Y. Kim Eminent Professor
Director, Nuclear Engineering Program
Director, Center for Risk and Reliability
0151C Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5226 | modarres@umd.edu
C.D. (Dan) Mote Jr.
Regents Professor & Glenn L. Martin Institute Professor of Engineering
Former President of University of Maryland, College Park
202-334-3201 | dmote@umd.edu
Michael Ohadi
Professor
4164C Glenn L. Martin Hall
301-405-5263 | ohadi@umd.edu
George E. Dieter Professor
Faculty Member, Applied Mathematics and Scientific Computation
Director, Center for Advanced Life Cycle Engineering
Room S1103, Engineering Lab, (Building 089)
301-405-5323 | pecht@umd.edu
Dr. Gary A. Pertmer
Associate Professor
Keystone Professor
2129 Martin Hall, Building 088
(301) 405-5284 | pertmer@umd.edu
Reinhard Radermacher
Minta Martin Professor
Director, Center for Environmental Energy Engineering
4164A Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5286 | raderm@umd.edu
Amir Riaz
Associate Professor
3127 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-0707 | ariaz@umd.edu
Peter Sandborn
Professor
Keystone Professor
Director, MTech
2106A Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-3167 | sandborn@umd.edu
Linda Schmidt
Professor
2104B Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-0417 | lschmidt@umd.edu
Elisabeth Smela
Professor
Leader, Mechanics and Materials Division
2112 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5265 | smela@umd.edu
Assistant Professor
2147 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-6928 | rsochol@umd.edu
Srebric, Jelena
Professor
3143 Glenn L. Martin Hall
301-405-7276 | jsrebric@umd.edu
Monifa Vaughn-Cooke
Assistant Professor
0151E Glenn L. Martin Bldg
301-405-9857 | mvc@umd.edu
Bao Yang
Professor
4164D Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-6007 | baoyang@umd.edu
Miao Yu
Associate Professor
2108 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-3591 | mmyu@umd.edu
Guangming Zhang
Associate Professor
Keystone: The Clark School Academy of Distinguished Professors
2104A Glenn L. Martin Hall
301-405-6617 | zhang@umd.edu
Michael Gollner
Assistant Professor, Ph.D.
Department of Fire Protection Engineering
3104A JM Patterson Building
301-405-6667 | mgollner@umd.edu
Kalnay, Eugenia
Distinguished University Professor
Department of Atmospheric & Oceanic Science
3431 Computer and Space Sciences Building
301-405-5370 | ekalnay@atmos.umd.edu
Assistant Professor
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Room 1208 Engineering Lab Building
301-405-9303 | binghu@umd.edu
Andre Marshall
Associate Professor
Director, Fire Testing and Evaluation Center (FireTEC)
Department of Fire Protection Engineering
3104H J.M. Patterson Bldg.
301-405-8507 | awmarsh@umd.edu
Glenn L. Martin Institute Professor of Engineering
Department of Mechanical Engineering, Department of Aerospace Engineering
3232 Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building
301-405-7373 | eoran@umd.edu
Riley, Dr. Donald R.
Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
4469 Van Munching Hall
301-405-8855 | drriley@umd.edu
Dr. Jan Sengers
Distinguished University Professor Emeritus
Research Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering, Institute for Physical Science and Technology
1113 Institute for Physical Science and Technology
301-405-4805 | sengers@umd.edu
Stanislav Stoliarov
Associate Professor, Ph.D.
Department of Fire Protection Engineering
3104C J.M. Patterson Building
301-405-0928 | stolia@umd.edu
Sunderland, Dr. Peter B.
Associate Professor
Department of Mechanical Engineering
3104E J.M. Patterson Building
301-405-3095 | pbs@umd.edu
Trouvé, Dr. Arnaud
Professor
Affiliate Professor, Dept. of Mechanical Engineeri, Professor, Dept. of Fire Protection Engineering, Affiliate Professor, Dept. of Aerospace Engineerin, Director of Graduate Studies, Dept. of Fire Protec
3104D J.M. Patterson Building
301-405-8209 | atrouve@umd.edu
Zachariah, Michael R.
Professor
Joint, Department of Chemistry and Bioc
2125 Glenn L. Martin Hall
301-405-4311 | mrz@umd.edu
Faculty Specialist
Machine Shop & PIRLS Lab Manager
0103A Glenn L. Martin Hall
301-405-5326 | maroom@umd.edu
Vikrant C. Aute
Associate Research Scientist
Director, ISOC
4164G Glenn L. Martin Hall
301-405-8726 | vikrant@umd.edu
Azarian, Michael
Assistant Research Scientist
Room 1103, Engineering Laboratory Building
301-405-7555 | mazarian@calce.umd.edu
Chabalko, Christopher
Research Assistant Professor
2181 Martin Hall
cchabalk@umd.edu
Das, Diganta
Research Associate
301-405-7770 | digudas@calce.umd.edu
Smith International Professor
Director, Center for Advanced Manufacturing
Viterbi School of Engineering, University of Southern California
skgupta@usc.edu
Dr. Yunho Hwang
Research Professor
Associate Director - Center for Center for Environmental Energy Engineering
4164 Glenn. L. Martin Hall Building
301-405-5247 | yhhwang@umd.edu
Kendall, Eric
Research Assistant Professor
3105 Glenn L. Martin Hall
301-405-1023 | ekendal1@umd.edu
Assistant Research Professor
3157 Glenn Martin Hall Bldg.
301-405-8672 | jiazhen@umd.edu
Liu, Xinan
Research Associate Professor
Coordinator of the Thermal-Fluids Undergraduate Laboratory
Room 1209, Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building
301-405-8745 | xliu@umd.edu
Assistant Research Professor
1145 Engineering Laboratory Building
1-301-405-0995 | luowei@umd.edu
Research Faculty
2119 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
alizadeh@umd.edu
Osterman, Michael
Senior Research Scientist
Director, CALCE Electronic Products and System Consortium
301-405-8023 | osterman@eng.umd.edu
Rao, Veena
Faculty Research Assistant
vrao@umd.edu
Amir Shooshtari
Associate Research Professor
amir@umd.edu
Severinsky, Dr. Alex
Visiting Professor of Mechanical Engineering
2181 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-2410
Anand, Dr. Davinder
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
Director, Center for Engineering Concepts Development
3120 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5294 | dkanand@umd.edu
Armstrong, Dr. Ronald W.
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
rona@umd.edu
Berger, Dr. Bruce S.
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
2143 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5262 | berger@umd.edu
Buckley, Jr., Dr. Frank T.
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
2168 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-4216 | fbuckley@umd.edu
Cunniff, Dr. Patrick F.
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
2143 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5262 | cunniff@umd.edu
Dr. James Dally
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
Glenn L. Martin Institute Professor of Engineering
865-558-6111 | jdally@umd.edu
George Dieter
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
Glenn L. Martin Institute Professor of Engineering
2145 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5248 | gdieter@umd.edu
Holloway, Dr. David
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
3137 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5281 | holloway@umd.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
954-564-2908 | jkirk@umd.edu
Magrab, Dr. Edward B.
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
2140 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5205 | ebmagrab@umd.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
0162 Manufacturing Building
301-405-4019 | cmarks@umd.edu
Ali Mosleh
Professor Emeritus of Reliability Engineering
0151F Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5215 | mosleh@umd.edu
Piomelli, Dr. Ugo
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
Room 3139, Building 088, Glenn L. Martin Hall
301-405-5254 | ugo@umd.edu
Drs. Fourney and Roush
Professor Emeritus of Reliability Engineering
2174 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-7299 | mlroush@umd.edu
Sanford, Dr. R. J.
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
2410 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-2410 | sanford@umd.edu
Wallace, James
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
Director, Burgers Program for Fluid Dynamics
0100-K Ellicott Hall, Building 256
301-314-6695 | wallace@umd.edu
Associate Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
2188 Martin Hall
301-405-2409 | bwal@umd.edu
Professor Emeritus of Mechanical Engineering
301-405-5306 | yangj@umd.edu
Firebaugh, Dr. Millard S.
Glenn L. Institute Professor of Engineering and Professor of Practice
2140 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301-405-5246 | mfirebau@umd.edu
Fischell, Dr. Robert E.
Professor of Practice
Member, National Academy of Engineering
14600 Viburnum Drive
410-988-9509
Kim, Dr. Jeong H.
Professor of Practice
3122 Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building
301-405-4778 | yurie@umd.edu
Lecturer
2123 Glenn L. Martin Hall
301.405.5328 | beslami@umd.edu
Adjunct Associate Professor
3137 Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301.405.2626 | gschultz@umd.edu
Senior Lecturer
3106A Glenn L. Martin Hall, Building 088
301.405.7329 | cthamire@umd.edu